The Bre Project by Ryan S Brown

This isn’t my usual type of post but this is a story that should be told frequently. The Utah based painter, Ryan S Brown, has a kickstarter project that I think everyone should know about. He has been kind enough to let me post about it on my little blog.

Mr. Brown has been working with a young model who has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer that began as pain in her legs. After a series of tests it was determined that she had a rare form of cancer that affects young people and is related to the growth rate of her bones. Terrible enough that this young girl now has the challenge of overcoming this disease but she is also a dancer which somehow makes the affliction even more tragic. His kickstarter project is to raise money to create a series of paintings documenting Bre’s treatment and overcoming of this disease. The money will be used to allow Mr. Brown to focus solely on these works, procure a venue, frame the paintings, show and then sell the works with the proceeds going to Bre’s treatment. Sounds like a good thing to be a part of.

I read about this project just before I left for a memorial service for the father of a friend that passed away from cancer. Timely indeed. Another friend of mine is in the later stages of cancer treatment (She’s doing great!). I think we all know someone who has been touched my this disease in some way, either directly, or through someone we care about. Someone I know suffered a pretty serious injury (not cancer-related) that could have put an end to her dancing career. It’s impossible for me to imagine those types of things. I’m pretty self absorbed in my petty problems so I should be more thankful for just how fortunate I have been. I’m not going to post images of Mr. Brown’s work but you can see his work and check out the video about the project on the links below. The deadline to contribute is December 28th. I’m not going to ask you to contribute but maybe you could pass the word around. It’s a small world and we need to help each other out. People ask me sometimes why art is important… how is it practical? It’s the most important thing in the world and I think this project will show people just how vital art is. Thanks for taking the time to learn more about this project. I think it has “good” written all over it.

Ryan S Brown and the Bre Project:

http://www.ryansbrownart.com/the-bre-project.html

The Bre Project on Kickstarter:

~ by Kelson Barber on November 30, 2013.

One Response to “The Bre Project by Ryan S Brown”

  1. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

 
