Another Self Portrait…

I recently finished this 8×10 self portrait. For a while now I have been painting with only five colors, Burnt Umber, Ultramarine, Alizarin Crimson, Cadmium Yellow Medium, and Lead White. I certainly recommend a limited pallet as a way of developing one’s skill at reproducing observed colors. For whatever reason I had a difficult time with color theory in college (which probably explains why my concentration became sculpture). I’ve just expanded my color range, having become more comfortable with the myriad of colors available, and switched to a better quality paint. I can certainly feel and see the difference when I’m painting. There is noting new or insightful (or even terribly interesting) in this post. Just getttin’ the work out there…..

~ by Kelson Barber on December 18, 2011.

One Response to “Another Self Portrait…”

  1. God, you’re good!

Leave a Reply

 
