Hot off the press…

So I built this press with plans from the interweb I found using the googlemachine. It’s a bottlejack press (6 tons) and works pretty darn well. I was getting better prints than with an etching press. I know the printmakers out there will say “Relief prints with an etching press?! Blasphemer!” Guess what? I don’t care. Lighten up. And now that I have this little baby I can make some prints when I feel like taking a break from making real art, i.e. paintings. Anywho…. If you are interested in making relief prints this thing will help you get the job done for a managable amount of money. All told it was about 100 bucks to build and would probably be less if I had kept a hold of some scrap lumber and such that was lying around. I ran some prints using an old matrix I cut last year but never ran the edition on. I had to go in and recut the image to make it deeper but everything turned out ok I think. The prints are surprisingly consistant. Some of the stuff that reads as blowout is from the earlier, shallow lines from when I first cut it. I’m hoping to get five good prints out of these for the edition.  After they dry I’ll trim these guys and see what I can come up with.

~ by Kelson Barber on February 20, 2011.

One Response to “Hot off the press…”

  1. You are unbelievable. Master of the ARTS.

Leave a Reply

 
